Saturday, 31 December 2016

The Speedygeese Calendar of Events

Posted by speedygeoff on Saturday, December 31, 2016 with 3 comments
**=I plan to attend

Sun 23/0712:45pmYCRC Symonston 9k
Sun 24/077:30am**speedygeese @ Stromlo Forest Park
Mon 25/075:30pm**speedygeese @ Parliament House
7:00pm**speedygeese dinner @ The Yacht Club
Tue 26/0712:25pmLake Tuggeranong Stakes 6k handicap
Wed 27/0712:15pmBBQ Stakes 6k handicap
Thu 28/075:30pm**speedygeese @ Parliament House
Fri 29/0712:15pmCustoms Joggers 5k handicap
Sat 30/078:00amBurley Griffin 5k parkrun
Ginninderra 5k parkrun
Tuggeranong 5k parkrun
Gungahlin 5k parkrun
12:45pm**YCRC Dunrossil Drive 4.2k
Sun 31/077:30am**speedygeese @ Stromlo Forest Park
9:00amACTVAC Handicap Little Black Mountain

Sunday, 24 July 2016

Our Kimberley August holiday itinerary

Posted by speedygeoff on Sunday, July 24, 2016 with No comments


Jenny and I will be on holidays very soon! Here's our itinerary.

Sat 6 August fly Canberra-Sydney-Broome stay at Cable Beach
Sun 7 August Broome catching up with a niece and her family
Mon 8 August Broome - Cape Leveque
Tue 9 August Cape Leveque - Cygnet Bay - King Sound tides Boat Cruise - Ardyaloon - Cape Leveque
Wed 10 August Cape Leveque - Beagle Bay - Derby
Thu 11 August Gibb River Road- Bell Gorge - Mornington Wildlife Sanctuary - Annie Creek
Fri 12 August Mornington exploration - Cadjeput Waterhole
Sat 13 August Galvans Gorge - Gibb River Road - Kalumburu road - Drysdale
Sun 14 August Gwion Gwion and Wandjina art - Mitchell Plateau
Mon 15 August Exploring Mitchell falls. Long walk to Rock art sites. Helicopter flight over falls.
Tue 16 August Mitchell Plateau - El Questro wilderness Park
Wed 17 August Exploring El Questro - thermal springs - long walk to Emma Gorge waterfall
Thu 18 August El Questro - Cambridge Gulf - Ord river 3 hour boat cruise - Kununurra
Fri 19 August Kununurra - Ivanhoe Plains - Bungle Bungles
Sat 20 August Bungle Bungles scenic flight - Cathedral Gorge - Echidna Chasm
Sun 21 August Bungle Bungles - Halls Creek - Fitzroy Crossing - Geikie Gorge National Park boat cruise
Mon 22 August Fitzroy Crossing - Tunnel Creek underground river walk - Windjana gorge - back to Broome where Jenny and I will celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary in style!
Tue 23 August Horizontal Falls Sea-plane and Jet-boat tour out of Broome! Then final dinner with the tour group.
Wed 24 August Fly Broome - Melbourne - Canberra

Should be fun - it will be our first time in that part of the world!
I will keep everyone posted via Facebook with pictures of each location. If no internet access, there may be a delay, but it will happen!

Saturday, 23 July 2016

random

Posted by speedygeoff on Saturday, July 23, 2016 with No comments





Leaving the AU

Friday, 22 July 2016

Thursday training moving to Parliament House

Posted by speedygeoff on Friday, July 22, 2016 with No comments
It's a farewell to Dickson Oval after 25 (?) years of training there. I have decided to move Thursday training to Parliament House, permanently.

My reasons for moving - well Dickson was always intended to be off-season training for track runners, but we haven't got as many track runners in the group any more. Plus the Parliament House venue is almost as good for track focused training anyway.

And security is good at Parliament House. Not that Dickson has been too much of a problem, we have only had about three incidents of theft there over the years. But the risk is always there.

Dickson track quality is often not great. The grass is really greener at Parliament House!

Dickson track availability during school holidays, during scheduled maintenance, and when it rains, is a big issue. No such problem at Parliament House, where training is never cancelled.

Getting to Parliament House is much easier than getting to Dickson given the traffic congestion, which is going to get much worse with Northbourne avenue road works for example and the growing Canberra population.

Parliament House is more central - south-siders who haven't been able to get to Dickson will find it easier to get to Parliament house. We should be able to build up numbers there.

People have asked me if we will be doing anything different on Thursdays compared with Mondays. Yes we will. Monday and Thursday sessions will be different from each other - for example longer intervals will be the go on Thursdays.

See you there on the 28th!

Thursday, 21 July 2016

Gungahlin Gallop videos

Posted by speedygeoff on Thursday, July 21, 2016 with 5 comments
...from https://youtu.be/2x3vW279DF8



and from https://youtu.be/50FwGrTRUaA

Wednesday, 20 July 2016

speedygeese training

Posted by speedygeoff on Wednesday, July 20, 2016 with No comments
On Sunday Andrew and I jogged at Stromlo.

On Monday for our main speedygeese session we ran 20x100m Parliament House hills on 90 seconds: Andy, Christopher, Colin, Dave, Isaac, Jen, Pieta, Susan, Warrick with me supervising.

Training is on again this week Thursday at Dickson; Sunday at Stromlo; and next Monday at Parliament House after which we will go to the Yacht Club for a meal. Come along even if you didn't train; all welcome!

Ruth and Margaret are back running again!


Ruth at Ginninderra parkrun


Margaret at Gungahlin parkrun

Tuesday, 19 July 2016

speedygeese race results (and Rae's result)

Posted by speedygeoff on Tuesday, July 19, 2016 with No comments
Sunday 10 July Broome Half Marathon
22 Rae Palmer 2:21.21
34 finishers

Sunday 10 July Broome Marathon
5 David Webster 3:47.43
16 finishers

Friday 15 July Customs 5k
Peter Thomson 22:50
Bronwyn Calver 24:09
Bill Arthur 26:37
Caroline Campbell 37:39
11 finishers

Saturday 16 July Burley Griffin 5k parkrun #5
36 Daniel Fernandez 22:32 M40 (first parkrun)
58 Gary Bowen 24:58 M55
80 Thea Zimpel 26:34 W30
162 finishers

Saturday 16 July Ginninderra 5k parkrun #220
64 Susan Sturgeon 25:36 W40
91 Bron Sparkes 29:00 W35
120 Ruth Baussmann 31:53 W65
169 finishers

Saturday 16 July Tuggeranong 5k parkrun #177
8 David Clarke 19:13 M55
14 Peter Thomson 20:04 M55
30 Bronwyn Calver 22:45 W45
201 finishers

Saturday 16 July Gungahlin 5k parkrun #144
97 Margaret McSpadden 33:19 W65
132 finishers

Sunday 17 July
Gungahlin Gallop 30k
18 Dave Clarke 2:48.30
52 Peter Thomson 3:24.19
92 finishers

Sunday 17 July Gungahlin Gallop 10k
tba


Cable Beach, Broome, where Rae and David raced last week. I will be staying at Cable Beach on 6 August for a couple of days, and again on 23 August.

Monday, 18 July 2016

Song of the week: Wona

Posted by speedygeoff on Monday, July 18, 2016 with No comments
Sometimes you wish there were new songs as good as the old Paul Simon tracks from Graceland. Well here's one, at last. I'm getting the album, I am hoping all the tracks are just as good.

From https://youtu.be/rAGWA-4U3QY